MINUTES OF THE INAUGURAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE SEVEN OAKS SCHOOL DIVISION HELD ON MONDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2010, 6:00 P.M., AT THE BOARD OFFICES, 830 POWERS STREET, WINNIPEG, MANITOBA, R2V 4E7.

Trade	PRESENT	Derek Dabee	Trustee

Ric Dela Cruz Trustee
Teresa Jaworski Trustee
Cory Juan Trustee
Bill McGowan Trustee
Evelyn Myskiw Trustee
Edward P. Ploszay
Claudia Sarbit Trustee
Richard Sawka Trustee

IN ATTENDANCE Brian O'Leary Superintendent

Lydia Hedrich Assistant Superintendent
Edith Wilde Assistant Superintendent
Wayne Shimizu Secretary-Treasurer
Donna Herold Administrative Assistant

Wayne Shimizu in the Chair.

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee McGowan nominated Trustee Myskiw.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations be closed.

10B-001 – Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Myskiw was declared elected by acclamation Chairperson of the Board.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS

VICE-CHAIRPERSON OF THE BOARD

Trustee McGowan nominated Trustee Ploszay. Trustee Myskiw nominated Trustee Juan.

Hearing no further nominations the chair declared nominations be closed.

10B-002 - Vice-Chairperson of the Board

Trustee Ploszay was elected Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Trustee Myskiw in the Chair.

CO-CHAIRS OF NEGOTIATIONS SEVEN OAKS TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION

Trustee Jaworski nominated Trustee Sawka.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

10B-003 - Co-Chair of Negotiations - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association

Trustee Sawka was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Teachers' Association.

CO-CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS CANADIAN UNION OF PUBLIC EMPLOYEES

Trustee Sarbit nominated Trustee Dela Cruz.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

10B-004 – Co-Chair of Negotiations – Canadian Union of Public Employees

Trustee Dela Cruz was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for C.U.P.E. Locals No. 731, 949, 2938.

CO-CHAIR OF NEGOTIATIONS SEVEN OAKS PARAPROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION

Trustee Sawka nominated Trustee Jaworski.

Hearing no further nominations the Chair declared nominations be closed.

10B-005 – Co-Chair of Negotiations – Seven Oaks Paraprofessional Association

Trustee Jaworski was declared elected by acclamation Co-Chair of Negotiations for the Seven Oaks Paraprofessional Association.

REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES – STANDING COMMITTEES

10B-006 – Representatives to Other Bodies – Standing Committees

- Policy Manual Committee: Trustees Jaworski, Juan, and Ploszay.
- Workplace Safety and Health Committee: Trustee McGowan.
- Accident Review Committee: Trustees Jaworski and Juan.
- Board / SOTA Professional Development Committee: Trustees Sarbit and Sawka.
- Educational Leave Committee: Trustees Jaworski and Juan.
- Board / SOTA Advisory Committee: Trustees Juan, Ploszay and Sarbit.
- Board / Student Liaison Committee: Trustees Dabee and McGowan.
- Negotiations Committees:
 - Seven Oaks Teachers' Association: Trustees Sawka (Chair), Juan and Ploszay.
 - Canadian Union of Public Employees, Locals #731, #949 and #2938: Trustees Dela Cruz (Chair), Dabee and Myskiw.
 - Seven Oaks Paraprofessional Association: Trustees Jaworski (Chair), McGowan and Sarbit.

10B-007 – Representatives on External Committees

- City of Winnipeg Liaison: The Board will send the Chair.
- Metro Coordinating Committee: Trustees Dela Cruz, Jaworski and Sawka.

10B-008 - Auditors

Sarbit / Dela Cruz

That the auditors for the Seven Oaks School Division for the 2010-2011 school year be K.P.M.G. <u>carried</u>

10B-009 - Solicitor

Jaworski / McGowan

That the solicitors for the Seven Oaks School Division be on a fee for service basis. carried

10B-010 - Signing Officers

Juan / Dabee

That the signing officers for the Board be the Chairperson or the Vice-Chairperson; and the Secretary-Treasurer or the Superintendent.

Carried

10B-011 - Ballots

Dela Cruz / McGowan

That the ballots be destroyed.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:35 p	o.m.
 Chairperson	Secretary-Treasurer